Our Firm

id est” is a Latin expression meaning “that is to say” (i.e. in abbreviated form). Clients expect nowadays from their legal counsel far more than a perfect knowledge of the law. Trusted attorneys shall be able to assist in ambitious projects and help design and implement complex negotiation or litigation strategies; they must fit in multidisciplinary teams, explain the stakes, and formulate no non-sense, pragmatic and actionable advice to diverse stakeholders: board of directors, entrepreneurs, shareholders, investors.

In line with our philosophy, we focus on certain industries of which we know the rules, the players, the specificities, the market standards and the best practices:

  • computing
  • advanced technologies and Internet,
  • life and health sciences,
  • media and advertising,
  • corporate law,
  • advice to companies, entrepreneurs, shareholders and board members
  • intellectual property, especially in the field of software and online services.

Our ambition is not only to advise and defend our clients’ interests, but also to accompany and facilitate projects on which our advice is sought, building the grounds for long-term relationships with our clients.

Our Approach

With a team composed of specialized lawyers, we first have at heart to offer efficient services to all of our clients.

We take advantage of each of the team members expert knowledge and favor a practical approach with one designated point of contact. We further developed a privileged network of foreign attorneys, whom we personally know and who are active in the main European markets (France, Germany, UK, Italy, Spain, Belgium, Luxemburg, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and Finland), US market (New York, Massachusset, California) and Asian markets (China, Japan).

Our priority is to place our clients at the center of our practice, and we work at maintaining cutting-edge knowledge in our fields of practice, as well as in our clients’ fields of business.

We are passionate about technologies surrounding us, but also by the entrepreneur spirit of some of our clients; we are involved in projects that matter to us, whether as jury members giving awards to successful entrepreneurs and SMEs, or by regularly giving classes, seminars or workshops in Switzerland or abroad.

Some of our awards

Notre Étude

« id est » signifie « c’est-à-dire » en latin. Les clients attendent aujourd’hui de leurs avocats non seulement qu’ils leur disent le droit, mais aussi qu’ils les accompagnent et les soutiennent dans des projets ambitieux, des procès compliqués et des stratégies complexes; l’avocat doit être capable de s’intégrer au sein d’équipes multidisciplinaires, d’expliquer les enjeux d’une décision et de donner des recommandations concrètes et réalistes aux différents intervenants: conseils d’administration, entrepreneurs, actionnaires, investisseurs.

Dans cet esprit, nous nous concentrons sur des industries dont nous connaissons les spécificités, les acteurs et les meilleures pratiques :

  • l’informatique,
  • les technologies avancées et l’Internet,
  • les sciences du vivant et le domaine de la santé,
  • les média et la publicité,
  • le droit commercial,
  • le conseil aux sociétés, à leurs dirigeants et aux investisseurs, et
  • la propriété intellectuelle, en particulier dans le domaine du logiciel et des services en ligne.

Notre ambition est non seulement de conseiller et de défendre, mais aussi d’accompagner et de faciliter les démarches pour lesquelles nous sommes sollicités, nous permettant ainsi de construire des relations à long terme avec nos clients.

Notre méthode

Composée d’une équipe de spécialistes, nous avons à cœur d’offrir à tous nos clients des services efficaces.

Exploitant au mieux les compétences spécialisées des différents membres de l’étude, nous favorisons une approche pratique et un interlocuteur désigné. Nous avons en outre développé un réseau privilégié d’avocats partenaires que nous connaissons personnellement dans les principaux marchés européens (France, Allemagne, Angleterre, Italie, Espagne, Belgique, Luxembourg, Hollande, Norvège, Suède, Finlande), aux Etats-Unis (New York, Massachussets, Californie) et en Asie (Chine, Japon).

Soucieux de placer nos clients au centre de notre pratique, il nous est essentiel de maintenir nos connaissances à la pointe, tant dans nos domaines de compétences que dans les domaines d’activités de notre clientèle.

Passionnés par les technologies qui nous entourent mais aussi par l’esprit entrepreneurial que démontre nombre de nos clients, nous nous impliquons dans des projets qui nous tiennent à cœur, que ce soit en qualité de membres de jury récompensant des entrepreneurs et PME à succès ou en donnant régulièrement des formations internes, des cours et des conférences, en Suisse et à l’étranger.

Quelques unes de nos distinctions